Here to stay – our mission.

Our culture is shaped by all kinds of different people, with different cultures and traditions. This diversity enriches us on a daily basis and makes Germany a unique country of immigration. Nonetheless, diversity is hard to find in German leadership circles. But why?
All too often, it is the background of talented students and young professionals, rather than their capabilities, that influences their career prospects. That’s why Schotstek champions equal opportunities through its personal development programme and extensive network. Ultimately, this benefits all of us – business, science and, above all, society. Help us in our mission, e.g. by becoming a Schotstek supporter.

27%

More than a quarter of the German population is from an immigrant background.

50%

In Hamburg, more than 50% of primary school children are from an immigrant background.
German Chancellor

OLAF SCHOLZ

German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, formerly the First Mayor of Hamburg, values the work of Schotstek. During his time as First Mayor, he also served as a Schotstek patron for three years.

German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, formerly the First Mayor of Hamburg, values the work of Schotstek. During his time as First Mayor, he also served as a Schotstek patron for three years.

Olaf Scholz

German Chancellor

48%

Virtually half of all people who are visibly from an immigration background – e.g. on account of their skin colour – feel discriminated.

13%

Only an eighth of researchers employed in Germany are from an immigrant background.

42%

Almost half of all school students from an immigrant background hold the university entrance qualification.

70%

More than two thirds of surveyed international students plan to stay in Germany after completing their degree.

Our success story:
We make the difference
with equal opportunities.

The top management levels of German organisations are anything but diverse. But whereas the discussion surrounding a mandatory quota of women in leading roles is well under way, the debate on cultural diversity in the professional area is only just beginning, even though Germany is a country of immigration. But why are there so few Managing Board members, artistic directors, state councillors and CEOs from an immigrant background? Because a successful career doesn’t just take talent and ambition, but also contacts; in this regard, there is not a level playing field for everyone. That’s why eight dedicated, Hamburg-based individuals – some from an immigrant background, some not – joined forces to launch a project in spring 2013: Schotstek. Akin to a sailor’s knot, which ties together two separate strands of rope, our organisation establishes an unparalleled connection, thereby creating something new from two separate things. In our case, we offer a unique scholarship programme that overcomes the hurdles facing students and young professionals from an immigrant background while also building a supportive community.

"Without Schotstek, I wouldn’t be a German and I wouldn’t be conducting brain cell research."

Susan Amirbeigiarab

Research Associate & PhD Candidate
The programme already takes effect at the degree stage, the aim being to ensure a level playing field for students, regardless of whether they are from an immigrant background, by the master’s stage at the latest. To reflect the fact that our society and the professional arena are evolving all the time, Schotstek is always evolving too. And what started out as a charitable labour of love, led by one of the founders Sigrid Berenberg, is now a non-profit limited liability company (gGmbH) with seven partners and a Managing Director: Evgi Sadegie.
Chair of the Schotstek Management Board and Lawyer

Sigrid Berenberg

"Schotstek identifies, promotes and connects potential. Until all smart students from immigrant families get the opportunity to maximise their intellectual gifts and capabilities, equal opportunities will remain nothing more than a buzzword."

Brief profile

Sigrid studied law and practised as a lawyer before taking on leading positions in the fields of corporate communications and film education, organising cultural and other events. Her commitment to charitable causes goes all the way back to the 1970s with a neighbourhood association in the St. Pauli area of Hamburg, followed by a family planning centre, Kultwerk West and Schotstek. In 2022, she brought together a group of friends in Hamburg to launch a scholarship programme for ambitious students from an immigration background – Schotstek.

"Schotstek identifies, promotes and connects potential. Until all smart students from immigrant families get the opportunity to maximise their intellectual gifts and capabilities, equal opportunities will remain nothing more than a buzzword."

Sigrid Berenberg

Chair of the Schotstek
Management Board and Lawyer

We welcome your support!

Whether a donation, a sponsorship or an endowment: there are numerous ways to support our work financially, thereby providing young people with positive support throughout their education.

More information about Schotstek

Our Schotstek Advisory Board members.

Our Advisory Board members are instrumental in the success of Schotstek. They discuss, advise and share their experiences with our scholars. They open doors and contribute their valuable time to make Schotstek possible in the first place.

Any questions?

We are always happy to answer questions and can be contacted by email at all times.

Our programmes

Once Schotstek, always Schotstek: we offer bespoke support at every career stage – for entry-level professionals, juniors, doctoral candidates and alumni.

Gekommen, um zu bleiben - Unsere Mission.

Unsere Gesellschaft ist geprägt von ganz unterschiedlichen Menschen, Kulturen und Traditionen. Diese Vielfalt bereichert uns täglich und macht Deutschland als Einwanderungsland einzigartig. Und trotzdem sucht man Diversität in deutschen Führungsebenen meist vergebens. Warum? Noch immer entscheidet bei talentierten Studierenden und Young Professionals viel zu oft die Herkunft und nicht das Können über ihren Karriereweg. Deswegen setzt sich Schotstek mit seinem Programm zur Persönlichkeitsentwicklung und seinem breiten Netzwerk für Chancengleichheit ein. Denn davon profitieren wir alle, die Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und vor allem die Gesellschaft. Hilf uns dabei – zum Beispiel als Unterstützer*in von Schotstek.

27%

Mehr als ein Viertel der deutschen Bevölkerung hat einen sogenannten „Migrationshintergrund“.

50%

In Hamburg haben mehr als 50% der Grundschulkinder einen „Migrations-hintergrund“.
Bundeskanzler

OLAF SCHOLZ

Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz, Hamburgs ehemaliger Erster Bürgermeister, schätzt die Arbeit von Schotstek. Als Bürgermeister war er drei Jahre lang Schirmherr von Schotstek.

Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz, Hamburgs ehemaliger Erster Bürgermeister, schätzt die Arbeit von Schotstek. Er war drei Jahre lang Schirmherr von Schotstek.

Olaf Scholz

Bundeskanzler

48%

Gut die Hälfte aller Menschen, deren Einwanderungs-geschichte äußerlich erkennbar ist – etwa durch die Hautfarbe –, fühlen sich diskriminiert.

13%

Nur ein Achtel der angestellten Wissenschaftler*innen in Deutschland haben eine Einwanderungsgeschichte.

42%

Fast jede*r zweite Schüler*in mit „Migrationshintergrund“ hat Abitur oder die Fachhochschulreife.

70%

Mehr als zwei Drittel der befragten internationalen Studierenden planen nach dem Studium in Deutschland zu bleiben.

Unsere Erfolgsgeschichte: Mit Chancengleichheit schafft Schotstek eine unvergleichliche Verbindung.

Deutsche Führungsetagen sind alles andere als divers. Doch während über eine verpflichtende Frauenquote diskutiert wird, hat die Debatte über kulturelle Vielfalt in der Berufswelt erst begonnen – und das, obwohl Deutschland ein Einwanderungsland ist. Aber warum gibt es kaum Vorstände, Intendant*innen, Staatsrät*innen oder Geschäftsführer*innen mit Einwanderungsgeschichte? Weil eine starke Karriere neben Ehrgeiz und Talent auch Beziehungen voraussetzt und da haben nicht alle die gleichen Chancen. Deshalb starteten acht überzeugte Hamburger*innen mit und ohne Einwanderungsgeschichte im Frühjahr 2013 ein gemeinsames Projekt: Schotstek. Genau wie der Seemannsknoten – der zwei Seile miteinander verbindet – schafft unsere Organisation eine unvergleichliche Verbindung und macht aus zwei unterschiedlichen Dingen etwas Neues. In unserem Fall ein einzigartiges Stipendiat*innen-Programm, das Hürden von Studierenden und Young Professionals mit Einwanderungsgeschichte überwindet und eine unterstützende Community schafft.

„Dank Schotstek forsche ich zum Alterungsprozess und fühle mich in Deutschland zuhause“

Susan Amirbeigiarab

Research Associate & PhD Candidate
Dabei setzt das Programm bereits im Studium an, um spätestens beim Masterabschluss gleiche Voraussetzungen für Studierende mit und ohne Einwanderungsgeschichte zu schaffen. Unsere Gesellschaft wie auch die Berufswelt befinden sich in stetigem Wandel, deshalb entwickelt sich auch Schotstek dauernd weiter. Und was als ehrenamtliches Herzensprojekt, geführt von einer der Gründer*innen Sigrid Berenberg, angefangen hat, ist heute eine gGmbH mit sieben Gesellschafter*innen und der Geschäftsführerin: Dr. des. Trang Schwenke-Lam.
Geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin Schotstek und Juristin

Sigrid Berenberg

„Schotstek findet, fördert, vernetzt Potentiale. Chancengleichheit bleibt solange nur Schlagwort, bis alle klugen Studierende aus Einwanderungsfamilien eine Chance bekommen, ihren Grips und ihr Können auszureizen.“

Kurz-Vita

Sigrid ist Juristin, arbeitete als Anwältin, später in leitenden Positionen in der Unternehmenskommunikation und der Film-Ausbildung – sie organisierte Events und Kulturveranstaltungen. Ihr ehrenamtliches Engagement startete in den 1970er Jahren im Nachbarschaftsverein St. Pauli und führte über das Familienplanungszentrum und das Kultwerk West zu Schotstek. 2012 trommelte sie in Hamburg Freund*innen zusammen, um ein Stipendienprogramm zu schaffen für ambitionierte Studierende mit Einwanderungsgeschichte – Schotstek.

"Schotstek findet, fördert, vernetzt Potentiale. Chancengleichheit bleibt solange nur Schlagwort, bis alle klugen Studierende aus Einwanderungsfamilien eine Chance bekommen, ihren Grips und ihr Können auszureizen."

Sigrid Berenberg

Schotstek Vorstandsvorsitzende & Juristin

Wir freuen uns über Unterstützung!

Ob Spende, Sponsoring oder Erbschaft: Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, unsere Arbeit finanziell zu fördern und damit junge Menschen auf ihrem Bildungsweg positiv zu begleiten.

Mehr Themen zu Schotstek

Unsere Beirät*innen bei Schotstek.

Für den Erfolg von Schotstek sind unsere Beirät*innen entscheidend. Sie diskutieren, beraten und teilen ihre Erfahrungen mit den Stipendiat*innen. Sie öffnen Türen und machen mit ihrer kostbaren Zeit Schotstek erst möglich.

Noch Fragen?

Bei Fragen helfen wir gerne und stehen jederzeit per E-Mail zur Verfügung.

Unsere Programme

Einmal Schotstek, immer Schotstek: Wir bieten zu jedem Zeitpunkt der Karriere maßgeschneiderte Betreuung – für Starter*innen, Juniors, Promovierende und Alumni.